Skip to content

Regulation of Insurers and Lloyd’s


Section 6 of the Insurance Ordinance (Cap. 41) (“IO”) prohibits any person from carrying on insurance business in or from Hong Kong except an authorized insurer, Lloyd’s or an association of underwriters approved by the Insurance Authority (“IA”). The IA regulates these entities through its licensing and supervision functions.


Regulatory Requirements on Insurers

Authorized insurers have to comply with the provisions of the which, among other things, require them the following:

Authorization Requirements

Any company wishing to carry on insurance business in or from Hong Kong may apply to the Insurance Authority for authorization to do so under the IO.

A “company” for the purposes of the IO is one formed and registered under the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 622), or one formed and registered under the former Companies Ordinance, including a non-Hong Kong company to which Part 16 of the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 622) applies.

Authorization requirements and procedures are set out in the Authorization Guideline (GL1) and Guideline on Application for Authorization to Carry on Insurance Business in or from Hong Kong (GL5). Authorization to carry on insurance business in or from Hong Kong will only be granted to those insurers who meet the authorization requirements stipulated under sections 8(2) and 8(3) of the IO.  

Adequate Capital

The minimum paid-up capital is currently HK$10 million, or HK$20 million for a composite insurer (i.e. carrying on both general and long term business) or for an insurer wishing to carry on statutory classes of insurance business.  It should be emphasized that these are the minimum amounts and an appropriate safety margin is required on top of the required capital.  

Adequate Solvency

An insurer shall maintain an excess of assets over liabilities of not less than a required solvency margin. The objective is to provide a reasonable safeguard against the risk that the insurer’s assets may be inadequate to meet its liabilities arising from unpredictable events, such as adverse fluctuations in its operating result or the value of its assets and liabilities.

There are separate provisions for a general business insurer and a long term business insurer:

 

  • General Business Insurer 
    The solvency margin is the greater of :
    • one-fifth of the relevant premium income up to HK$200 million, plus one-tenth of the amount by which the relevant premium income exceeds HK$200 million; or
    • one-fifth of the relevant claims outstanding up to HK$200 million, plus one-tenth of the amount by which the relevant claims outstanding exceeds HK$200 million.

subject to a minimum of HK$10 million, or HK$20 million in the case of insurers carrying on statutory classes of insurance business.



  • Long Term Business Insurer 
    The solvency margin is determined by the greater of :
    • HK$2 million; or
    • an amount specified under the Insurance (Margin of Solvency) Rules (which is generally 4% of the mathematical reserves and 0.3% of the capital at risk). 

 

For the purposes of determining compliance with the solvency margin requirement, the value of assets, in the case of an insurer carrying on general business, is to be determined in accordance with the Insurance (General Business) (Valuation) Rules, while the amount of the long term business liabilities, in the case of an insurer carrying on long term business, is subject to the Insurance (Determination of Long Term Liabilities) Rules.


Fit and Proper Management and Shareholders

The IO requires that any person who is a director or controller of an insurer must be “fit and proper” to hold such position. Prior approval of the IA is required under sections 13A or 13B for the appointment of certain controllers, including the chief executive of an insurer.  In applying the fit and proper test, the IA will take into account, among other things, the character, qualifications and experience of the directors or controllers of the applicant company.

To enhance transparency of this regulatory requirement, a Guideline on “Fit and Proper” Criteria under the Insurance Ordinance (Cap.41) (“GL4”) was issued by the IA for information. GL4 sets out those factors that the IA will take into account in administering the said requirement.

After obtaining authorization, an authorized insurer is required to comply with sections 13A, 13AC, 13AE, 13B, 14 and 15 of the IO in respect of any appointment of or changes in its controllers, directors, key persons in control functions or appointed actuary (if the insurer carries on long term insurance business).   These requirements aim at ensuring that the persons to be appointed or have been appointed, as appropriate, as controllers, directors, key persons in control functions or appointed actuary of an insurer are fit and proper.


Adequate Reinsurance Arrangements

The IO requires that adequate arrangements are in force, or will be made, for the reinsurance of risks of those classes of insurance which are to be carried on by the insurer. The IA has issued a Guideline on Reinsurance (GN17) which sets out the general guiding principles of the IA in assessing the adequacy of the reinsurance arrangements of an insurer.

Besides, an insurer applying for authorization must meet certain other conditions as set out in the Authorization Guideline (the “Guideline”) issued by the IA, which seek to ensure that the applicant insurer is financially sound and competent to provide an adequate level of services to the insuring public. These conditions continue to apply to an insurer after its authorization. The requirements set forth in Item 3.5 of the Guideline apply to all applicants, whether incorporated locally or overseas, which include, amongst others, the commitment of the applicant to Hong Kong. The applicant is expected to have an office in Hong Kong with a professional management and staff establishment appropriate to the nature and scale of its operations, and its own senior management team, comprising a locally-based chief executive and adequate team heads to oversee its key functions. A company applying for authorization to carry on long term insurance business in or from Hong Kong must also meet the requirements set forth in Item 3.6 of the Guideline. An applicant which is a non-Hong Kong company must further meet the requirements set forth in Item 3.7 of the Guideline. However, an overseas applicant may, if it so chooses, incorporate a subsidiary company in Hong Kong for the purpose of the application, in which event the additional requirements set forth in Item 3.7 of the Guideline will not apply.

Facility for Terrorism Risks

Employees’ Compensation (“EC”) Insurance Business

To resolve the problem of withdrawal of reinsurance coverage for terrorism risks in EC business following the 911 attacks on the United States, the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (the “Government”) has since January 2002 provided direct EC insurers with a facility of up to HK$10 billion in aggregate to cover claims arising out of terrorism under their EC insurance policies (“Facility”).  Participation in the Facility is voluntary. Participating insurers are required to pay a monthly charge of 3% on the gross premiums written for the month of their EC policies to the Government. With this Facility, insurers can continue to provide cover for employment-related claims for death and bodily injuries caused by terrorist acts and the protection of both employers and employees can be maintained.

The Government has no intention to assume the role of a reinsurer and has made it clear that it will withdraw the Facility once the reinsurance cover for terrorism risks become available again from the commercial market. In this regard, the Insurance Authority is closely monitoring market developments.

Motor Insurance Business

To resolve similar problem faced by direct motor insurers, the Motor Insurers’ Bureau of Hong Kong, which consists of all insurers carrying on direct motor vehicle liability insurance in Hong Kong, has since January 2002 provided a facility of up to HK$200 million through its First Fund to satisfy third party death or bodily injury claims arising from terrorist acts under motor policies.


Adequate assets maintained in Hong Kong for general business

Section 25A of the Insurance Ordinance (Cap.41) requires an insurer carrying on general business, other than a professional reinsurer and a captive insurer, to maintain assets in Hong Kong of an amount which is not less than the aggregate of 80% of its net liabilities and the solvency margin applicable to its Hong Kong general business. The objective is to ensure that, in the event of insolvency of an insurer, assets will be available in Hong Kong to meet the claims of Hong Kong policy holders. These claims are accorded a preferential status under Hong Kong’s insolvency law to those of ordinary creditors.
 


Prudent Valuation Basis for Assets and Liabilities

General insurance business

The Insurance (General Business) (Valuation) Rules (“Valuation Rules”) made under section 129(1) of the Insurance Ordinance (Cap.41) provide a standard and prudent basis for the valuation of the assets and liabilities of an insurer carrying on general business. The Valuation Rules prescribe the valuation methods for different types of assets commonly found in an insurer’s balance sheet. To ensure a prudent spread of investments, the Valuation Rules also stipulate admissibility limits for different categories of assets. The admissibility limits, however, do not apply to assets maintained in Hong Kong pursuant to the local asset requirement.

Long term insurance business

The Insurance (Determination of Long Term Liabilities) Rules made under section 129(1) of the Insurance Ordinance (Cap.41) set out the bases for the determination of the amount of long term business liabilities. An insurer is required to adopt prudent provisions and assumptions, particularly on the rate of interest, when valuing the amount of long term business liabilities. Among others, valuation methods are specified for calculating the yields on assets and the amount of future premiums payable under an insurance contract.



Reporting Requirements

Section 17 of the Insurance Ordinance (Cap.41) (“IO”) provides that an insurer is required to submit annually to the IA its financial statements prepared in accordance with the requirements of Schedule 3 to the IO.

An insurer carrying on general business is additionally required to submit annually to the IA an audited General Business Return and audited Statement of Assets and Liabilities pertaining to its Hong Kong general business. The latter requirement does not apply to a professional reinsurer or a captive insurer.

An insurer carrying on long term business is required to submit annually an actuarial investigation report and the Hong Kong Long Term Business Return to the IA.



Corporate Governance

The IA has issued a Guideline on Corporate Governance of Authorized Insurers (“GL10”) which sets out the minimum standard of corporate governance that is expected of authorized insurers.

Corporate governance refers to systems through which an authorized insurer is managed and controlled. It is also a system of “checks and balances”.  The IA requires insurers to establish and implement a corporate governance framework which provides for sound and prudent management and oversight of its business and adequately recognizes and protects the interests of policy holders.  Also, the IA requires insurers to have, as part of their overall corporate governance framework, effective systems of risk management and internal controls, including effective functions for risk management, compliance, actuarial matters and internal audit.

Skip to content

保险公司监管规定


《保险业条例》(第41章)第6条规定,除获授权保险公司、劳合社或获保险业监管局(“保监局”)认可的承保人组织外,任何人均不可在香港或从香港经营保险业务。保监局透过其发牌及监管职能规管这些个体。


保险公司监管规定

获授权的保险公司须遵从《保险业条例》的条文,其中包括以下各项:  

授权规定

任何有意在香港或从香港经营保险业务的公司,可根据《保险业条例》的规定向保监局申请授权经营。

《保险业条例》所指的"公司"是指根据《公司条例》(第622章)组成及注册,或根据旧有《公司条例》组成及注册的公司,并包括《公司条例》(第622章)第16部所适用的非香港公司。

授权规定及程序载于《授权指引》(指引1)《申请授权在香港或从香港经营保险业务的指引》(指引5)。只有符合《保险业条例》第8(2)及8(3)条内的授权规定的保险公司,才会获授权在香港或从香港经营保险业务。  

充足的股本

目前的最低实缴股本为1,000万港元;至于经营综合业务(即同时经营一般业务及长期业务)的保险公司或打算经营法定类别的直接保险业务的保险公司,其最低实缴股本为2,000万港元。须强调的是,这些只是最低数额,实际数额有必要维持在这些数额以上的适当安全水平。  

充足的偿付准备金

保险公司须把其资产多于负债的数额,维持在不少于条例规定的偿付准备金水平。这项规定的目的是在面对保险公司出现不可预知的情况下(例如当其经营业绩或其资产与负债的价值出现不利波动时),而有可能出现其资产不足以应付其负债的风险时,为投保人提供合理的保障。

经营一般业务的保险公司及经营长期业务的保险公司有不同的条文规定:

经营一般业务的保险公司

偿付准备金以下述较大者为准:

  • 有关保费收入在2亿港元以内部分的五分之一,另加有关保费收入超逾2亿港元部分的十分之一;或
  • 有关未决申索在2亿港元以内部分的五分之一,另加未决申索超逾2亿港元部分的十分之一。

惟偿付准备金须最少为1,000万港元,如保险公司经营法定类别保险业的直接业务,则偿付准备金最少为2,000万港元。

经营长期业务的保险公司

偿付准备金由下述较大者为准:

  • 200万港元;或
  • 按照《保险业(偿付准备金)规则》所厘订的数额(大概为数理储备金的4%及风险资本的0.3%)。

就厘定申请人是否符合偿付准备金的规定而言,经营一般业务的保险公司的资产价值须根据《保险业(一般业务)(估值)规则》来厘定。至于经营长期业务的保险公司的长期业务负债数额,则根据《保险业(长期负债厘定)规则》来厘定。



管理人员及股东的适当人选

《保险业条例》规定,任何出任保险公司的董事或控权人的人士,必须是担当此等职位的适当人选。根据《保险业条例》第13A及13B条,保险公司在委任某些控权人,包括行政总裁之前,必须获得保监局的事先批准。在进行适当人选测试时,保监局除考虑其他因素之外,亦会把申请人公司董事或控权人的品格、履历及经验加入审议。

为提高这项规定的透明度,保监局已根据《保险业条例》(第41章)制定一份有关《《保险业条例》(第41章)有关“适当人选”的准则指引》(指引4),指引4说明其在执行这项规定时所考虑的因素。

保险公司在获得授权后,如其控权人、董事、管控要员或获委任精算师(如该保险公司经营长期保险业务)有任何委任或更改,须遵从《保险业条例》第13A,13AC,13AE,13B,14及15条的规定办理。这些规定旨在确保将获委任或已获委任(视属何者适当而定)为该保险公司控权人、董事、管控要员或获委任精算师的任何人士是适当人选。


足够的再保险安排

《保险业条例》规定,保险公司须为其拟经营的保险类别的风险备有或将会作出足够的再保险安排。保监局己制定一份有关《再保险指引》(指引17)阐述保监局评估保险公司的再保险安排是否足够时所采用的一般指导原则。

此外,申请授权的保险公司亦须符合由保监局发出的《授权指引》(指引1)(“授权指引”)中胪列的其他条件,以确保申请人具备足够的财力和有能力为投保人士提供足够水平的服务。保险公司在获授权后仍须继续遵守这些条件。该指引第3.5项列举的规定适用于所有申请人,不论申请人是在本地或海外成立为法团的公司。有关规定包括申请人对香港承担的责任:本处期望申请人会在香港开设办事处,聘用符合经营性质和规模的专业管理人员及职员,以及拥有自己的高级管理团队,包括一名驻港的行政总裁及足够的要员监察申请人的各种主要职能。申请授权在香港或从香港经营长期保险业务的公司,须同时符合该指引第3.6项列举的规定。如申请人属非香港公司,则须进一步符合该指引第3.7项列举的规定。不过,海外申请人可以选择在香港成立一间附属公司办理申请事宜,在此情况下,该指引第3.7项列举的额外规定则不适用。

为恐怖主义活动风险提供的财务安排

僱员补偿保险业务

911恐怖袭击在美国发生后,为解决再保险公司不再为僱员补偿保险业务提供恐怖主义活动风险的再保险问题,香港特别行政区政府(“政府”)由2002年1月起,为经营直接僱员补偿业务的保险公司提供一项总额达100亿港元的财务安排,以保障在僱员补偿保单下因恐怖主义活动而引致的索偿(“财务安排”)。参与该财务安排纯属自愿性质,参与的保险公司须每月向政府缴付其在该月份承保的僱员补偿保单毛保费的百分之三作为费用。在该项财务安排下,保险公司可继续因恐怖活动引致伤亡而与就业有关的申索提供保险,而僱主及僱员的保障亦得以维持。

政府无意担当再保险公司的角色,并已清楚表明,若商业市场恢复提供涵盖恐怖主义活动风险的再保险安排,政府会撤销上述财务安排。就此,保监局会密切监察市场发展。

汽车保险业务

经营直接汽车业务的保险公司也面对类似的问题。为此,由所有在香港或从香港经营直接汽车业务的保险公司组成的香港汽车保险局自2002年1月起透过其第一基金,设立一项金额达2亿港元的财务安排,以应付因恐怖活动引致第三者伤亡的汽车保险申索。


为一般业务在香港维持足够资产

《保险业条例》(第41章)第25A条规定,除专业再保险公司及专属自保保险公司外,所有经营一般业务的保险公司须在香港维持一定的资产,数额不少于其香港一般业务净负债的80%及因应该业务而适用的偿付准备金的总和。这项规定旨在确保一旦保险公司无偿付能力,它们将有资产在香港以应付香港保单持有人的申索。根据香港有关无力偿债的法例,此等索偿较普通债权人优先获得赔偿。


资产及负债的审慎估值基准

一般保险业务

根据《保险业条例》(第41章)第129(1)条所制定的《保险业(一般业务)(估值)规则》(《估值规则》),为经营一般业务的保险公司的资产及负债提供一套标准及审慎的估值基准。《估值规则》订明保险公司资产负债表内各类常见资产的不同估值方法。《估值规则》亦订明了不同类别资产的可计入幅度,以确保保险公司的投资得以审慎地分散。然而,该等可计入幅度并不适用于有关在香港维持资产的规定下的资产。

长期保险业务

根据《保险业条例》(第41章)第129(1)条所制定的《保险业(长期负债厘定)规则》制定有关厘定长期保险业务负债的基准。保险公司在评估长期业务的负债时,须采用审慎的规定及假设,利率方面更应如此。此外,计算资产收益及保险合约内日后须缴保费的估值方法亦在该规则内订明。


呈报规定

根据《保险业条例》(第41章)第17条,保险公司须每年向保监局呈交按照该条例附表3规定所制备的财务报表。

经营一般业务的保险公司,每年须额外向保监局呈交就其香港一般业务制备并经审计的业务报表及资产负债表。唯呈交资产负债表的规定并不适用于专业再保险公司或专属自保保险公司。

经营长期业务的保险公司每年须向保监局呈交一份精算调查报告及香港长期业务报表。


公司管治

保监局发出了《获授权保险人的公司管治指引》(“指引10”),列明获授权保险公司在公司管治方面应达到的最低管治标准。

公司管治是管理和监控获授权保险公司的制度,亦是一"制衡"系统。保监局要求保险公司制订和实施公司管治架构,以便对保险公司的业务作出良好及稳妥的管理和监察,并充分确认与保障保单持有人的利益。同时,保监局要求保险公司具有有效的风险管理及内部管控系统(包括有效的风险管理、合规、精算事宜及内部审计职能),作为整体公司管治架构的一部分。