Skip to content

Qualifying Deferred Annuity Policy


How to Choose a Qualifying Deferred Annuity Policy

 

1. Understand the policy structure


The main purpose of deferred annuities is to help individuals turn their accumulated savings into a stable stream of income over a period of time to address the financial risks arising from longevity. There are a variety of deferred annuity products in the market. You should understand the policy structure in order to choose one that suits your individual needs.

Deferred annuities can be categorized by the length of their premium payment period and annuity period. In general, the amount of each payout is fixed. For the same insured sum, if the annuity period is longer, the amount of each payout will be smaller. However, some policies may offer a step-up provision, whereby the payout amount will gradually increase over the whole annuity period.

On the other hand, the length of premium payment period may affect the accumulation period. For example, some products are designed for the minimum issue age of 18, a five-year premium payment period, annuitisation at the age of 75, and a 10-year annuity period. This means that the entire policy term can be over 60 years.

As at 6 March 2020, among all the certified Qualifying Deferred Annuity Policies (QDAPs), the policy with shortest premium payment period was five years, while the longest premium payment period was 15 years. The policy with shortest annuity period was 10 years while the longest was lifelong. The minimum issue age was 18 while the maximum was 75.  

2. Assess your personal needs


The purpose of taking out a QDAP and individual circumstances vary from person to person. You should not blindly follow the choices of others. Before taking out a QDAP, you should consider carefully your personal needs, including long-term affordability, liquidity needs, whether the length of the premium payment period and annuity period suits your life planning, and so forth.

When choosing a QDAP, ask yourself a few questions, such as the age at which you intend to retire, your expected annuitisation age, and the length of your expected retirement life. For example, if you plan to retire at the age of 65, you expect a 20-year retirement life, and your other assets are enough to cater your financial needs for five years, you may need a QDAP with only a 15-year annuity period.

The QDAP is a long-term insurance product. Early surrender or termination of the policy may incur a financial loss. If you expect an unstable income, you may consider taking out a policy with a shorter premium payment period. On the other hand, if you would like to reduce the payment for each instalment, you may consider taking out a policy with a longer premium payment period. You may also choose to purchase more than one QDAP at different stages to create a mix of policies with different premium payment periods or annuity periods to accommodate your retirement plan.

3. Compare the internal rates of return (IRRs) of different QDAPs


You should compare the IRRs before taking out a QDAP. The IRR is a way to calculate future cash flow, including the premiums paid over the full payment period and all annuity income, at an annualized rate. In general, a higher IRR means a better investment return.

There are a variety of QDAPs available in the market. The returns are affected by many factors, including the length of the accumulation period and annuity period, the age of the insured, the currency of the policy, and the payment method.  

To facilitate comparison, all QDAPs are required to disclose their IRRs, including the guaranteed portion (i.e. guaranteed IRRs) and total projected benefits (i.e. total IRRs) in the product brochures in the form of an example: a non-smoking male policy holder aged 45. In addition, personalized IRRs for the guaranteed IRR and total IRR should be disclosed in the benefit illustration during the selling process starting from 31 March 2020.

You should not only look at the return of different policies, but also consider the features of the policies and your personal needs.

4. Look at the fulfillment ratio


The fulfillment ratio applies only to products with non-guaranteed payouts, which are often affected by factors such as the insurer’s investment returns, claims experience and profits. The annuity income offered by most QDAP comprises this non-guaranteed part. The actual amount of the non-guaranteed payout in the end may be higher or lower than the amount projected in the benefit illustration when you purchase the QDAP.

To help members of the public understand to what extent the insurers have realised their projected non-guaranteed payout, insurers are required to publish the fulfillment ratio of relevant products on their websites. A ratio close to 100 means the insurer has come close to achieving its projected non-guaranteed payout. If the fulfillment ratio is equal to or more than 100, it means the insurer has completely achieved or outperformed its projected non-guaranteed payout. On the other hand, if the fulfillment ratio is lower than 100, it means the insurer has not achieved its projected non-guaranteed payout.

The QDAP is a relatively new product. Insurers can publish the fulfillment ratio only a year after launching a new product. You may make reference to the fulfillment ratio of similar products offered by the same insurer.

5. Pay attention to the surrender value


The QDAP is a long-term insurance product. Early surrender or termination of the policy may incur a financial loss. If you terminate the QDAP or surrender it at the initial stage, the surrender value may be far less than the premiums paid.

To better protect the interest of policy holders, the IA requires the insurers to set the surrender value at a level where insurers do not profit from early termination. The surrender value, including the guaranteed and non-guaranteed parts, is listed in the benefit illustration. You may also refer to the product brochure for the percentage of the surrender value over the paid premiums of the first year of the policy.

Skip to content

合資格延期年金保單


如何選擇合資格延期年金保單

 

1. 了解保單結構


延期年金的目的是幫助投保人把累積的儲蓄轉化為在一段時間內的穩定收入,以應付長壽帶來的財務風險。市面上的延期年金保單眾多,市民在選擇適合自己的產品前,應先了解保單的結構分類。

延期年金保單可按其供款期、年金領取期來劃分。一般而言,年金是定額發放,假設保額相同,年金領取期越長,每期可領取的金額便越少。不過,亦有部分產品採用遞增方式派發年金,開始領取年金時的金額較少,隨後會逐步增加。

至於供款期的長短,則可能影響年金的滾存時間。例如部分產品可供18歲人士投保,供款期為5年,領取年金的年齡定於75歲,年金領取期則達10年。換言之,整個保單年期可能長達60多年。

截至2020年3月6日,在已獲認證的合資格延期年金保單(QDAP)中,最短供款期為5年、最長為15年;年金領取期最短為10年,最長則為終身。至於投保的年齡,最小為18歲,最大為75歲。

2. 評估自己需要


不同人的投保目的及個人狀況都不盡相同,市民切忌盲目跟隨他人的選擇。投保前應按自己的需要慎重考慮,包括長期供款能力、流動現金需要、供款期(退休前)及年金領取期(退休後)的長短是否符合人生規劃等。

市民選擇QDAP前,可以先考慮自己打算何時退休、預計何時需要動用年金、預計需要利用年金支付多久的退休生活等。例如你打算65歲退休,預計自己需要渡過約20年的退休生活,但其他資產足以應付頭5年的退休生活,那麼你可能只需要15年年金領取期的產品。

此外,由於QDAP是一種長期保險產品,提早退保或終止保單都可能會導致財務損失。假如你預期未來的收入不穩,你可能需要選擇一些供款期較短的產品。相反,假如你想把保費攤分,你則可能需要選擇一些供款期較長的產品。事實上,投保人亦可選擇於不同時期購買多於一份QDAP,以不同供款期或不同年金領取期的產品來配合自己的退休計劃。

3. 比較內部回報率(IRR)


市民投保前宜先比較不同產品的內部回報率(IRR),內部回報率是把未來現金流量折現為現值的回報率,即把年金全期保費及收入化作年度回報計算。一般而言,內部回報率越高,代表投資的回報越大。

QDAP的產品設計五花八門,累積期和年金領取期的長短、受保人年齡、所選擇的保單貨幣、保費付款方式等因素都會影響保單的回報。

為方便市民較容易作出比較,所有QDAP均須在產品小冊子內,以一名45歲非吸煙男性保單持有人為例,顯示其內部回報率,包括保證部分(即保證內部回報率)及總預計收益(即總內部回報率)。此外,由2020年3月31日起,保險公司在銷售時,亦必須於利益說明文件中披露個人化的保證內部回報率及總內部回報率。

儘管如此,市民選擇QDAP時,亦不應單純比較不同保單的回報,而應該同時考慮不同保單的特點及評估個人需要。

4. 參考分紅實現率(Fulfillment Ratio)


分紅實現率只適用於有「非保證回報」的產品。非保證回報一般受保險公司的投資回報、理賠及盈利等因素影響,未必能夠完全兌現。而大部分的QDAP產品所派發的年金金額都包含「非保證」部分,投保人最終可獲的非保證年金金額,有可能高於或低於當初購買QDAP時,於利益說明文件中提及的非保證回報部份。

為方便市民了解保險公司能否完全兌現有關產品於當初所承諾的非保證回報部份,保險公司必須於其網頁刊登有關產品的分紅實現率。分紅實現率越接近100,即代表保險公司越能兌現當初就非保證回報部份的回報承諾。如果分紅實現率等於或高於100,則代表保險公司能夠完全兌現、甚至高於當初所作出的回報承諾。相反,如果分紅實現率低於100,即代表保險公司未能夠完全兌現當初的回報承諾。

由於QDAP為新產品,保險公司一般會在產品推出一年後刊登分紅實現率,市民亦可留意保險公司其他同類別産品的分紅實現率作參考之用。

5. 留意退保價值(Surrender Value)


由於QDAP是一種長期保險產品,提早退保或終止保單都可能會導致財務損失,尤其在保單生效的初期提出,收到的退保金額可能會大幅低於已付保費。

為了保障投保人的利益,保監局規定QDAP的退保金額須盡量定於保險公司不會因投保人提前終止保單而獲利的水平。投保人可於利益說明文件中查閱包括保證回報及非保證回報(如適用)在內的退保價值,或於相關產品小冊子中,查閱首年退保金額佔已付保費的百份比。