Skip to content

Insurtech Corner


The development of financial technology ("Fintech") is important in strengthening the role of Hong Kong as an international financial centre. Against this background, the Insurance Authority ("IA") has been closely monitoring the development and application of technology in the insurance industry ("Insurtech") and proactively assisting market participants to tackle Insurtech-related regulatory issues.

The IA has launched various initiatives to promote Insurtech development in Hong Kong. These include:


Insurtech Sandbox ("Sandbox")

The IA launched an Insurtech Sandbox on 29 September 2017 to facilitate a pilot run of innovative Insurtech applications by authorized insurers to be applied in their business operations.

Introduction and background

The IA observes that authorized insurers may have initiatives in applying innovative technologies in their business operations but may be uncertain if those initiatives can meet the supervisory requirements of the IA. With a view to promoting technology development for the insurance industry in Hong Kong, the IA considers it necessary to adopt some flexibility in the supervisory requirements.

The IA would consider an Insurtech initiative to be a pilot run under the Sandbox to collect sufficient data to demonstrate to the IA that such Insurtech application can broadly meet relevant supervisory requirements arising from its codes and guidelines and other regulatory practices.

Who can apply for a pilot trial under the Sandbox?

The Sandbox is available to Insurtech and other technology initiatives intended to be launched in Hong Kong by authorized insurers. The IA will work with the authorized insurers and technology companies cooperating with them.

What are the principles of the Sandbox?

The following principles apply to the Sandbox:

  1. Well-defined boundary and conditions

    There should be a clearly defined scope of the trial, including:

    1. Timing and duration, or expected official launch date of the initiative to the market;
    2. Size and type of insurance business, and targeted users. While external customers serving as users of the trial can give live and real data for the initiative under trial, other types of users, e.g. selected group of staff of the authorized insurer may also serve the purpose of testing under the Sandbox;
    3. Technology involved;
    4. Expected outcome and success criteria of the trial.
  2. Risk management controls
    There should be adequate control procedures to achieve the objectives of the relevant supervisory requirements of the IA.
  3. Customer protection
    Adequate safeguard should be in place to protect the interests of customers during the trial. For some cases, it may be necessary to make known to the customers that they are put into the pilot run with which the related supervisory requirements may not be fully complied. There may be cases where appropriate arrangements should be made for customers to withdraw from the trial (e.g. refund of premiums) or to receive fair compensation for financial losses caused by failure of the trial.
  4. Resources and readiness of the insurer
    The insurer should be ready for the test in the Sandbox with adequate resources and should be able to demonstrate that the Insurtech initiative is ready for testing.
  5. Exit strategy
    The insurer should present to the IA an exit strategy for the pilot run if it has to be terminated without success. The Sandbox is not a means to bypass applicable and related supervisory requirements.
  6. Other relevant considerations
    The IA does not intend to define parameters for the above principles and to stipulate an exhaustive list of supervisory requirements that may potentially be relaxed within the Sandbox framework. These are subject to the nature and application of each Insurtech initiative and will be discussed on a case-by-case basis.

The IA will refine the above arrangements over time in light of implementation experience and industry development.

What are the benefits of the Sandbox?

The Sandbox would be beneficial to the insurance industry. Insurers testing new Insurtech initiatives under the Sandbox can gain real market data and information of user experience in a controlled environment before launching them into the market. At the same time, the Sandbox would provide inputs to the IA for refining its supervisory requirements, taking into account the latest technological applications by the insurance industry.

How to learn more about the Sandbox?

For enquiries, please write to the Insurtech Facilitation Team by emailing to [email protected] or call Erwin Chak (2153 2736) / Bill Li (2153 2735).

The IA, the Hong Kong Monetary Authority ("HKMA") and the Securities and Futures Commission ("SFC") have launched their respective sandboxes. If a firm intends to conduct a pilot trial of a cross-sector Fintech product, it may apply to seek access to the sandbox it considers most relevant. The regulator will act as the primary point of contact and assist in liaising with the other regulators for the firm to access the sandboxes concurrently. Please click on the links to learn more about sandboxes operated by the HKMA and the SFC.


Fast track for applications for authorizations of new insurers owning and operating solely digital distribution channels ("Fast Track")

The IA launched a pilot scheme Fast Track on 29 September 2017 to expedite applications for new authorization to carry on insurance business in or from Hong Kong using solely digital distribution channels as a means to promote the development of Insurtech in Hong Kong.

What is the Fast Track about?

The Fast Track provides a dedicated queue (i.e. an expedited and streamlined process compared with other insurance licence applications) for new authorization applications from applicants which would own and operate solely digital distribution channels, without the use of any conventional channels involving agents, banks or brokers.

Who can apply under the Fast Track?

Insurers under the Fast Track must have an innovative and robust business model using digital distribution to bring benefits to the consumers in Hong Kong in product development, delivery, customer service and cost efficiency.

Insurers under the Fast Track would not be allowed to accept business from any channels other than its own proprietary digital distribution system.

How are policy holders' interests protected?

To ensure that the interests of policy holders would not be adversely affected, the following principles will be adopted for the Fast Track:

  1. All solvency, capital, and local asset requirements, which are set for ensuring sufficient loss absorption capability of authorized insurers must be met. All other requirements under the relevant guidelines should apply, except where the IA agrees to exempt or modify after due consideration.
  2. All policy holder protection measures should remain intact, except for those that are not applicable to the case of direct digital sales.
  3. As not all insurance products are suitable to be sold online, the IA will impose certain restrictions or conditions on the products that can be sold online. 
  4. As far as long term business is concerned, to ensure that there is adequate insurance experience among the shareholder controllers, at least one of the shareholder controllers should be an insurer (or the subsidiary or affiliate of an insurer) authorized to carry on the relevant insurance business in Hong Kong or a jurisdiction having information exchange arrangement with the IA.

Is there a deadline for application under the Fast Track?

The Fast Track operates as a pilot scheme and there is no specific deadline of application under it. Nevertheless, the IA will closely monitor the operation of the Fast Track and may revise it in light of implementation experience and industry development.

How to learn more about the Fast Track?

For enquiries, please write to the Insurtech Facilitation Team by emailing to [email protected] or call Freddy Pang (2867 2691) for long term business and Vivian Lai (2867 3225) for general business.


Insurtech Facilitation Team

The IA has established the Insurtech Facilitation Team to enhance the communication with business involved in the development and application of Insurtech in Hong Kong, as well as to promote Hong Kong as an Insurtech hub in Asia.

The Team will facilitate the Insurtech community's understanding of the current regulatory regime, act as a platform for exchanging ideas of innovative Insurtech initiatives among key stakeholders, and provide advice on Insurtech-related topics as appropriate.

To promote a closer dialogue between the Insurtech Facilitation Team and the market participants and interested parties, a dedicated email account has been set up. If you have any Insurtech proposal or wish to better understand the regulatory landscape for the insurance sector in Hong Kong, please contact us by emailing to [email protected].


Working Group on Embracing Fintech in Hong Kong under Future Task Force

The Future Task Force ("FTF") of the Insurance Industry has been set up to explore the future of the insurance sector and draw up recommendations. Out of the three working groups under the FTF, the “Embracing Fintech in Hong Kong” working group focuses on promoting the application of Fintech in the insurance industry. Click here for more details.

Skip to content

保险科技专区


金融科技发展对于巩固香港国际金融中心的地位十分重要。因此,保险业监管局(保监局)一直密切留意保险科技的发展和应用,并积极协助市场人士应对保险科技相关的监管问题。

保监局推出了不少促进本港保险科技发展的措施,包括:

在国际层面,保监局已成为全球金融创新网络的成员。全球金融创新网络是一个由金融监管机构和相关组织组成的国际网络,致力以消费者的利益为前提支持金融创新。全球金融创新网络旨在为创新型企业提供一种更有效的方式与监管机构互动,帮助他们在寻求扩展新思路时在各国导航。当中包括为有意在多个地区测试创新产品、服务或商业模式的企业推出先导计划。它还旨在建立新框架,以供各个金融服务监管机构就创新相关主题合作,分享不同的经验和方法。详情请参阅全球金融创新网络的网页(只提供英文版本)。


保险科技沙盒

保监局由2017年9月29日起推出保险科技沙盒(沙盒),以便获授权保险公司在商业运作上,以先导形式试行应用创新保险科技。

引言和背景

保监局留意到获授权保险公司可能会于商业运作上应用创新科技的项目,但未必确定这些项目能否符合保监局的监管规定。为了推广香港保险业的科技发展,保监局认为有必要在现有的监管要求上提供弹性安排。

保监局将考虑让个别保险科技项目在沙盒的环境下试行,让保险公司收集足够的数据,向保监局证明该保险科技的应用可大致符合守则、指引和其他规管做法的相关监管规定。

谁能申请于沙盒下作试行计划?

沙盒可供获授权保险公司计划在香港推出的保险科技及其他科技项目使用。保监局将会与获授权保险公司及其协作的科技公司一起合作。

沙盒采用什么原则?

以下的原则适用于沙盒:

  1. 明确的范围和条件

    试行应要有明确的范围,包括:

    1. 时间和期限,或预期正式推出市场的日期;
    2. 保险业务的规模和类型,以及目标使用者。外部顾客固然可作为试行阶段的使用者,为该试行计划提供及时实际的数据;但其他类型的使用者,如获授权保险公司内部被选定的员工,亦可参与试行计划,以达到沙盒的测试目的;
    3. 所涉及的科技;
    4. 试行的预期成果和成功条件。
  2. 风险管理控制
    保险公司应有足够的管控程序,以达到保监局相关监管规定的目标。
  3. 客户保障
    保险公司应有足够措施在试行期间保障客户利益。在某些情况下,保险公司可能需要通知客户其参与的试行计划未必完全符合相关的监管规定,亦要有适当的安排,让客户退出试行计划(如退还保费)或对试行失败所导致的财务损失作出公平的补偿。
  4. 保险公司的资源和准备
    保险公司应为于沙盒下的测试预备足够的资源,并能够显示出该保险科技项目已准备好进行测试。
  5. 退出策略
    保险公司应向保监局提供退出策略以终止试行失败的计划。沙盒不应被用来规避适用及相关监管规定。
  6. 其他相关考虑
    保监局无意就上述的原则定下范围,以及列出拟议在沙盒框架内放宽的监管规定的详尽清单。这些都会取决于个别保险科技项目的性质和应用,保监局会就个别情况与保险公司讨论。

保监局会因应实践经验和市场发展,于日后修改以上安排。

沙盒会带来什么好处?

沙盒将为保险业界带来好处。保险公司可在新的保险科技项目推出市场前的受控环境中,获得实际的市场数据和使用者体验的资讯。同时,沙盒亦可提供资料,让保监局可根据保险业界的最新科技应用发展,适时修订监管规定。

如何能获得更多有关沙盒的资讯?

如有任何查询,请电邮致保险科技促进小组[email protected]或致电翟志超先生(3899 9977)。

保监局、香港金融管理局(金管局)和证券及期货事务监察委员会(证监会)均已分别推出沙盒。有意就跨行业金融科技产品参与试行计划的公司,可选择其认为最相关的沙盒,并向该沙盒的监管机构提交申请。该监管机构将作为这些公司的主要接洽点,协助联系其他监管机构,以便同时使用其他沙盒。请按连结以了解金管局证监会沙盒的详情。


供持有和使用全数码分销渠道的新保险公司作授权申请之快速通道(Fast Track)

保监局由2017年9月29日起推出一项试验计划 (Fast Track) ,加快处理采用全数码分销渠道的新保险公司在香港或从香港经营保险业务的授权申请,以促进保险科技在香港的发展。

甚么是Fast Track?

Fast Track旨在为持有和使用全数码分销渠道(即不使用代理、银行或经纪等常规分销渠道)的申请人的新授权申请提供一条专队(即相对其他保险授权申请快速和精简的流程)。

谁可透过Fast Track提出申请?

Fast Track的申请者必须拥有一套创新和稳健的商业模式,透过数码分销,于产品开发、分销、客户服务和成本效益方面,为香港的消费者带来益处。

除了透过其专有的数码分销渠道外,经Fast Track获授权的保险公司不得从其他渠道接受业务。

如何保障保单持有人的利益?

为确保保单持有人的利益不受影响,Fast Track 将会采用以下原则:

  1. 获授权的保险公司必须遵守所有有关偿付能力、资本和本地资产的要求,以确保具备充分吸收亏损的能力。除非保监局在适切考虑后同意豁免或作出修改,否则相关指引的所有要求仍然适用。
  2. 除了一些不适用于直接数码销售的例外情况,所有保障保单持有人的措施维持不变。
  3. 鉴于并非所有保险产品均适宜在线销售,保监局将对可在线上销售的产品施加一定的限制或条件。
  4. 就长期保险业务而言,为确保股东控权人之间有足够的保险经验,至少一名股东控权人须为于香港或一个与保监局有资料互换安排的司法管辖区,获授权经营相关保险业务的保险公司(或其附属公司或关联公司)。

Fast Track会否有截止申请日期?

Fast Track为试验计划,因此没有具体的截止申请日期。然而,保监局将密切监察Fast Track的运作,并会因应实践经验及市场发展作出适当修订。

如何了解更多有关Fast Track的详情?

如有任何查询,请电邮致保险科技促进小组[email protected]


保险科技促进小组

保监局成立保险科技促进小组,以加强与在香港从事保险科技发展和应用的公司和人士的沟通,并推动香港成为亚洲区的保险科技枢纽。

保险科技促进小组会协助保险科技业界了解现行的规管制度,担当平台角色,让主要持份者交流创新保险科技项目,及适当地就保险科技相关议题提供意见。

为了与市场人士及有关各方建立更紧密的沟通,保险科技促进小组已设立专用电邮帐户。如你有任何关于保险科技的建议或希望更了解香港保险业的规管环境,请透过电邮[email protected]与我们联络。


未来专责小组旗下的「推动本港金融科技工作小组」

未来专责小组的成立旨在探索保险业的未来并提出建议。在未来专责小组的三个工作小组当中,「推动本港金融科技工作小组」专注于推广保险业的金融科技应用。请按此浏览详情。